Simple Granola Balls

granola.balls
“I’m hungry.”
“Mom, is there anything to eat?”
“I’m still hungry.”
“I need to eat.”
My children are bottomless pits. My son, in particular, seems insatiable lately. I want them to eat filling things so I don’t have to hear, “I’m hungry,” thirty times a day, but I’d like those things to be healthy and natural and tasty, too. My neighbor had these yummy granola balls in her fridge one afternoon and my kids gobbled them up like they had never before tasted food. I think they each ate three of them and I swear, I didn’t hear requests for food until dinnertime. A miracle, I tell you.
Honestly, I don’t know what I’m going to do when they become teenagers and the eating gets serious. Make a ton of these awesome granola balls, I suppose…
Simple Granola Balls
(makes 15-18 golf ball-sized balls)
1 cup old fashioned oats
2/3 cup unsweetened flaked coconut
1 tablespoon flaxmeal
1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup almond butter (peanut or other nut butters would work)
1/3 cup honey
2-3 tablespoons diced dates or raisins (optional)
Add all ingredients to a large bowl. Mix to combine. Cover and chill for approximately one hour.
Once chilled, roll large spoonfuls of oat mixture into balls. Refrigerate and enjoy at your leisure. These will keep for quite a while in an airtight container in the fridge, but don’t expect them to last long. They are too tasty and easy to eat!
P.S. – You can easily double or triple this recipe if you need a big batch of snacks to last you a while.
Leave a Reply

