What’s for Dinner?

My son walks up to me. “What’s for dinner?” he asks.
“Rice and veggies with poached eggs.”
“Great.” He walks away. Three minutes later he comes back and asks me again. I tell him, reminding him that he asked me that question mere minutes ago. He claims amnesia before walking away again. Five minutes later he’s back.
“What’s for dinner?” he asks. I stare at his beautiful face. His huge blue eyes look to have been cut from the sky. My friend’s aunt once asked him, in all seriousness, what he was going to do with eyes like that. I imagine that had he been older he might have responded, “Get a date,” but he was only 8 at the time so instead of smart-assery we got sweetness. He just smiled nervously, revealing his new, turquoise-banded braces. Then he laughed and said, “I don’t know” before running back to the merry-go-round.
“What?” he asks me, genuinely perplexed.
“Are you kidding me?”
“What? I’m hungry. What are we having?”
“I told you three minutes ago. For the second time.”
“No you didn’t.” And so it goes.
I should have given him boiled beets to eat, but instead he got a plainer version of this absolutely, unbelievably, satisfying and delicious meal.
Rice, Greens, and Eggsegg.green.rice
(serves 4)
1 cup cauliflower rice
1 cup brown rice, cooked according to package directions
4 tablespoons olive oil, divided
10-15 cremini mushrooms, sliced
6 ounces fresh spinach
4 eggs, poached (or fried)
Salt, pepper, lemon, and Sriracha to taste
Add oil to a large skillet and heat over medium-high heat. Add sliced mushrooms and saute until browned and slightly crispy, about 10-12 minutes. Transfer mushrooms to a bowl and set aside.
In the same skillet, add remaining olive oil and spinach. Saute until soft, stirring occasionally to keep spinach from sticking, about 10-12 minutes.
During the last 5 minutes of the spinach cooking time, prepare eggs to your liking.
Assembly
Into each bowl, add the following in the following order: brown rice, cauliflower rice, spinach, and mushrooms. Top with an egg. Garnish with salt, pepper, and Sriracha, if desired.
PS – I often utilize this meal as a way to use up leftover rice and/or cauliflower rice. It comes together WAY faster if you’re using leftovers. Also – you can totally make this with only brown (or white or wild) rice or with only cauliflower rice. I like the combination, but you can do what you like best, obviously!
Leave a Reply

